The Coffee Pot Blues

Standard

As a writer, I depend on coffee. Hundreds of gallons a week. Maxwell House which is still good to the last drop. But keeping a working coffee pot in this house apparently takes an act of Congress.

When I mentioned my coffee pot blues on Facebook, people said there’s no point in buying an expensive one because they break down as fast as the cheap ones. After some 200 plastic (drip style) coffee pots, I’ve come to the same conclusion. I don’t know what it’s like in your job, but frankly, the last thing I want happening is to be writing a sentence like, “Bob poured Nora a hot cup of coffee to get her in the mood,” only to find out my coffee is stone cold.

Or that the pot is empty because the water never boiled and dripped down. Or that the pot is half full because half of the water leaked out of the tank and ran down between the counter and the refrigerator where it can just dry the hell up down there all by itself since I’m not moving major appliances just to wipe up a spill.

I’ve tried all brands of “reasonably priced” pots from $20 to $60. They usually work fine for six months. After that, anything can happen, and by the time I get it fixed, I’m no longer in the mood to figure out just what Nora was going to do after Bob poured her a steaming cup of joe, a cup that should, actually, be here on my desk keeping my energy level high.

Today I bought a $10 pot at Dollar General. Never heard of the brand, something like “CoffeeFix” or “Lobster-and-Coffee-Machine,” or some such thing. Maybe cheaper is better. If this one breaks any time this year, I’m going back to boiling coffee in an enamel pot on the stove top, or perhaps on a bonfire made of all the pots stacked up in the garage that don’t work any more but are out there just in case I need them for something.

Malcolm

9 responses

  1. for good reliable coffee brewing, get a french press, which are pretty indestructible; second option, electric percolator, also very sturdy and top brew quality; third option a kitchen aid coffeemaker
    all of these can be found on ebay for under $50 and will last and taste 10x better.

    • French Press? Hmm, that’s not the kind of gizmo my friends have where it looks like they’re doing a science fair project just to make coffee, after which the yield is only one or two cups at a time is it?

      🙂

  2. If you are writing sentences like, “Bob poured Nora a hot cup of coffee to get her in the mood,” you deserve cold coffee. 😉

    Seriously, though, Malcolm–I’m on the french press bandwagon here. I love mine, and you can make the coffee as strong or weak as you like. But the old speckleware camp coffeepot on my stove top works pretty well, too.

    I had one other suggestion, but I think I need to go pour myself another cuppa first…

    • Well, Smoky, you’re making an assumption about Bob and Nora. The rest of that sentence might have been “to get her in the mood to finish the end-of-year report for the home office.”

      I thought the French Press was an aggressive kind of kiss.

  3. I left a comment last night but I put a link into it and it looks like it was gobbled up by the spam filter. For over 15 years now we’ve used a cold brew system that makes incredible tasting coffee with no bitterness to it at all. Now we won’t drink anything else. The hardware (which is not much) is made by Toddy Maker. You might consider it.

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Coffee Pot Blues « Malcolm's Round Table -- Topsy.com