Many Glacier Hotel Hootenanny

Standard

Once upon a time, in those days now referred to as “the old days,” employees at Glacier National Park’s Many Glacier Hotel put on skits, talent shows, serenades and a weekly Hootenanny.

Return with us now to Swiftcurrent Valley on July 30 at 8 p.m. for a hootenanny presented as part of the Many Glacier Hotel employees reunion.

The program includes a folk-singing performance by ten groups of musicians drawn from employees of various eras in the Glacier Park Hotels. Musical performances have been presented in Glacier’s Hotels throughout their history.

Hootenanny programs were presented at Many Glacier from the 1960s to the 1980s, and have been revived since 2006. This program will celebrate the musical history of the lodges, engage visitors with fine talent and interpretation, and build community.

Maybe you’ll join in on some of the old songs and learn a few new ones.

Malcolm (Many Glacier Bellman in 1963 and 1964)

8 responses

  1. I wish I lived a little closer to Glacier: that looks like it would be a lot of fun! From what I read here, the Park is having an excellent year!

  2. Wish I could have been there for the reunion. Couldn’t make if for health reasons. Once upon I time I held the record for most Hootenanny appearances (’74, 75, 76 and ’78).

    • I wanted to be there, too, but from Georgia the time and expense was too much. Sorry you couldn’t get there. Would have been nice to see or even take part in another Hootenany.

  3. thanks for this site. I was a bellman at Many Glacier in the summer of 1981, and I would love to get connected with other alums. I would love any guidance you could offer as far as Facebook groups or whatever else. again – thank you.