Versatile Blogger Award, OMG, ROFLMAO

Standard

Due to a questionable, though potentially humorous ripple in the space-time continuum yesterday, author Smoky Zeidel awarded me the Versatile Blogger Award. According to the usual half-informed sources, this award forces me to divulge seven facts about myself that most of you don’t know without the benefits of a get out of jail free card or an invitation to join the FBI witness protection program.

  1. I danced with a local mobster’s girl friend one night in Denver when he (the mobster) was out of town. The girl friend was also a stripper, though not while we were dancing to the celestial “Double Crossing Time” from the Blues Breakers with Eric Clapton album via the juke box.
  2. I once delivered singing telegrams for Western Union even though I can’t sing. (I delivered regular telegrams, too.) Fortunately, strip telegrams were banned in Florida due to the size of the palmetto bugs.
  3. My first byline came from Quill & Scroll Magazine when I was in high school. This occurred before I been introduced to the exciting world of mobsters’ girl friends and Eric Clapton.
  4. My college roommate and I introduced a Vietnamese exchange student to President Lyndon B. Johnson as he shook hands with the mob (not the Mob) watching his plane come into Denver in 1966, the same year I danced with the stripper. We did not bring the stripper with us, but our friend from Saigon still got a nice smile from the leader of the free world.
  5. After I got out of the Navy, my parents inadvertently asked during a Sunday afternoon dinner (moments after all of us got back from church) if “those stories” about Navy men going to bars in foreign ports frequented by strippers were true. When I said “yes,” they seemed pleasantly scandalized and said “that” was part of the price one paid for serving one’s country. I didn’t mention that I made a downpayment on that price several years earlier in Denver.
  6. I had a school-boy crush on actresses Millie Perkins, Natalie Wood, and Nancy Kwan. I “fell in love” with Wood when I saw her in person on an old Chicago radio program called Don McNeill’s Breakfast Club. She was there promoting a new movie called “The Burning Hills.” She didn’t notice me because she was there with Tab Hunter. Wood wouldn’t sing “Let me do a few tricks, Some old and then some new tricks, I’m very versatile” for a few years yet.
  7. En route to a Dutch shipbuilder where I did volunteer work one summer as part of an international youth group, we all swam in Amsterdam harbor after the captain of the barge we were using for transportation said the water was so dirty, nobody ever dared get in it. No strippers were present.

New Award Winners

According the the rules of the Versatile Blogger Award, I am supposed to pass along this award to 15 bloggers who currently have no idea I’m thinking of doing such a thing. Yet, they are writing blogs I enjoy reading:

  1. Chelle Cordero, “Welcome to Chelle’s World”
  2. Pamela Patchet, “A Novel Woman”
  3. Neil Vogler, “A Writer, He Muttered”
  4. Susanne Iles, “Bone Singer Studio”
  5. Seth Mullins, “Spirituality With an Edge”
  6. Shelly Bryant, “My Blog”
  7. Lee Libro, “Literary Magic”
  8. Floyd M. Orr, “POD Book Reviews & More”
  9. Terry (aka Montucky), “Montana Outdoors”
  10. Matt, “Just Wondering”

Well, I’m not as young as I was when I was dancing with strippers, swimming in Amsterdam harbor, talkin with President Johnson or singing “Happy Birthday” to the shocked residents of Tallahassee, Florida while wearing my Western Union badge. That means I’m out of steam and will stop at ten blogs on my list. Don’t bug me about this: I have Mob connections.

Malcolm

Malcolm R. Campbell is the author of the comedy/satire, “Jock Stewart and the Missing Sea of Fire,” the novel credited with adding a little nooke to the Nook.

15 responses

  1. Ah, Malcolm, you’re such a good sport! I’ve gotten a big kick out of this Versatile Blogger Award thing! And thanks for listing Chelle’s blog; when I listed mine, I knew I was forgetting someone, and it was Chelle! Sorry, Chelle!

  2. Oh, and P.S. It may be a “questionable and humorous” award, but I’ll take any award I can get! 😎 It’s all good fun.

  3. John,
    Thanks for the award, and for the affirming words of your comment on my blog. That means a lot coming from a published author of novels. Cheers!
    Matt

    • I like surfing over to your blog, Montucky, to see the great nature photography.

      Hmmm, Seth, I think we better skip the signing telegram. The OMG pins would be fun though.

      Malcolm

  4. Hi Malcolm! I am sorry I am so late responding to this. My apologies! Many thanks for including me in the list. Great blog, by the way.

    By the way, the town where I live was practically built on those Navy men and their, erm, antics. Said antics are not much of a mystery around these parts!

    N