Some times are good times for a little light reading

Standard

Sometimes I run out of new books to read. My official wish list is long, but my wallet isn’t full enough to keep the shelves stocked up with fresh reading. So, I re-read some of my favorites from the past such as “The Prince of Tides” and “The Great Gatsby.” Or, I turn to light reading.

Catherine Coulter probably wouldn’t like to hear me referring to the 16 books in her FBI Series as light reading. Her latest is “Back Fire,” released this month. Here’s the publisher’s description:

San Francisco Judge Ramsey Hunt, longtime friend to FBI agents Lacey Sherlock and Dillon Savich, is presiding over the trial of Clive and Cindy Cahill – accused in a string of murders – when the proceedings take a radical turn. Federal prosecutor Mickey O’Rourke, known for his relentless style, becomes suddenly tentative in his opening statement, leading Hunt to suspect he’s been threatened – suspicions that are all but confirmed when Hunt is shot in the back.

Savich and Sherlock receive news of the attack as an ominous note is delivered to Savich at the Hoover Building: YOU DESERVE THIS FOR WHAT YOU DID. Security tapes fail to reveal who delivered the tapes. Who is behind the shooting of Judge Ramsey Hunt? Who sent the note to Savich? And what does it all mean? Savich and Sherlock race to San Francisco to find out…watching their backs all the while.

Savich and Sherlock are a husband and wife FBI team. They work well together. They solve cases. They’re fun to read about. Judge Hunt is also a great character. No, I’m not reading “Back Fire;” Judge Hunt also appears in “The Target” (1998) which I’m reading now. “The Target” is the third FBI Series book I’ve read in the past month, so Savich and Sherlock seem like neighbors now. (It’s also the third book in the series, though I’m not reading them in the same order they were released.)

For me, one appeal of books in a series such as Coulter’s and Elizabeth Peters’ Amelia Peabody books is the fact that the characters, genre, author’s style and general tone of the books are known going in to each new story. In addition to the familiar characters, the plots have enough mystery and action to keep my interest until the next shipment of official reading list books arrives from Barnes & Noble.

I’m guessing that a lot of avid readers have books and series they turn to when there’s suddenly nothing new waiting on the nightstand. They’re rather like old friends, the kind who stop by for a cold beer and easy conversation on a hot afternoon.

Malcolm

3 responses

  1. My light & guilty pleasure? Sookie Stackhouse novels (as in the TrueBlood TV series). I’m NOT into today’s vampire books. I’m really not. But Sookie? yeah, my guilty pleasure. When I’m recovering from being sick or from surgery, I like Faye Kellerman novels. I call that my “light & recently under anesthesia” pleasure. I could go on, but you get the idea…it isn’t all heavy literature. And I see no reason it should be!

    • What makes the Sookie novels better than most of today’s vampire books is the fact the author has created lovable characters, and her stories are stories of tolerance and love across “races.” Yeah, there’s some vampire violence (and werewolf, too), but for the most part, they are fun reads.