Lawn Mowing for the First Time This Year

Standard

mower2My wife tells me that if we’re going to hike in the mountains late in the summer, we need to start getting in shape now. Walking from our house to the main street and back again is two miles, round trip. After mowing the lawn today for the first time this year, I see it’s time to star walking that walk.

Every muscle aches as though I spent the day playing football rather than walking behind our relatively light-weight rotary lawn mower. The first-of-spring grass-and-weed combination was almost too high for the mower, so my excuse is that things ache because I had to do more pushing.

I can tell you from experience, the first adventure in lawn mowing gets harder every year. Goodness knows what a five mile hike at 5,000 feet of elevation would have been like.

When I lived in Florida, I went to a college summer session at the University of Colorado in Boulder. It took me weeks to get used to the elevation. When I came back, though, I felt like Superman in my Gulf Coast World.

I’m hoping that means that when we get back from the mountains this year, I’ll feel half my age while mowing the lawn for the last time before winter, such as it is, in Georgia.

Malcolm

Malcolm R. Campbell’s contemporary fantasies, “The Sun Singer” and “Sarabande,” are set in the mountains of Glacier National Park, Montana

Read it now on your Kindle

Read it now on your Kindle

6 responses

  1. Mowing the grass was my absolute favorite “chore” when I lived in Illinois–and I had about a third of an acre to mow! How I miss those days…even the days when it was 90 degrees with humidity to match. The icy cold class of fresh-squeezed lemonade I’d down afterward was like a fine wine. Better, even.

    • It’s not so bad here after I get used to it. That glass of lemonade would have suited me just fine in Florida where we made our own from scratch, having the largest groves in the country a half a day from our door.

  2. I like the mountain theory. 🙂 As for mowing, we never really got to stop mowing the yard this past year. The most we got was a 2-3 week break. Like Smoky, I used to love mowing, but I’m just a little burned out on it right now.

  3. Haven’t mowed our yard yet. My excuse is that it has always been wet.

    You’re sure right about that exercise. I started working on it early this year so when the snow clears a bit I can do the hikes I want to do. There’s a distinct difference between hiking at 6000 or higher than at lower elevations. Strange… didn’t use to be that way 40 years ago!