Fall Reading: See anything you like?

Standard

Once the barrage of lightweight summer books has come and gone, readers’ thoughts to turn fall reading and holiday gifts. To help us make our choices, the usual flurry of best books of the year articles and lists is showing up all over the Internet and in your favorite book stores. For this, you can always start with the list of 101 best books of the year on Publishers Weekly.  (The feature has site errors in it, but click on OK and get past them.) Or you can look at USA Today’s list of fall books here.

Indie Bound publishes a “Next” list for upcoming books. Here are their favorites for November:

IndieNEXTnov13

Likewise, Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance (SIBA) keeps up with bestsellers for bookstores in the southeast. Here’s the link to their hardbacks PDF. On the download, they’ve highlighted several books, including:

leesmith

When people ask me about fiction and poetry, my answer depends on what (if anything) I know about the person. Do they like romance, fantasy, general fiction, crime? However, my three top picks of the year in fiction are:

fall2013books1

And, for those who like poetry (I think Bryant’s latest book is only on Sams Dot Com):

fall2013poetry

I’m intrigued by these short stories, but they may not work for everyone:

claire

In  the crime category, I liked Robert Galbraith’s (J. K. Rowling) The Cuckoo’s Falling and  Stephen King’s Joyland. In plays, I liked Elizabeth Clark-Sterne’s On the Doorstep of the Castle. Also, Tracy R. Franklin’s strong collection of poetry and essays Looking for the Sun Door is a beautiful book. And, since a short story of mine appears in the anthology, I have to mention Spirits of St. Louis: Missouri Ghost Stories. Of course, I wouldn’t mind if you clicked on the banner below to take a look at my new contemporary fantasy The Betrayed.

I hope you find plenty out there for your to-be-read list and for the lists of your friends and family.

Malcolm

betrayedbanner

7 responses

  1. Pingback: Book Bits: FAA to relax e-reader restrictions, Amy Tan, Fall reading picks, ‘Rustication’ | The Sun Singer's Travels

  2. This is probably the best list of book recommendations I have ever come across. I love Wally Lamb, Amy Tan and I have heard nothing but good things about “The Goldfinch.” I am definitely adding quite a few of these to my “TBR” list.

    My book recommendation for you is “Sex, Rain, and Cold Fusion” by author A.R. Taylor (http://www.lonecamel.com/the_book/). The book follows physicist David Oster on his difficult journey through adulthood. He is an intelligent man plagued with making poor decisions in life and love. He has an overly complicated sex life and is trying to make his passion of studying underwater physics a reality. The book appeals to men and women because it’s witty and funny and has everything from: murder and sex to a very comical look at the world of physics and dynamic hilarious characters. I would say the book is “geek chic” and definitely borders on comedy that can be compared to the “Big Bang Theory” or Chris Buckley’s “Thank You for Smoking.” Hope you will enjoy it as much as I did.