Spotlight on the Garden of Heaven Triology



  • Books in the Trilogy: The Seeker, The Sailor, The Betrayed
  • Genre: Magical Realism and Fantasy
  • Inspiration: While the fantasy is a work Garden1of fiction, it is inspired by my work as a hotel bellman in Glacier National Park (The Seeker), my tour of duty aboard an aircraft carrier as a navy journalist  (The Sailor), and my college teaching experiences as a journalism instructor (The Betrayed). The trilogy’s title comes from an old name of a Glacier Park valley (shown here in the forest photo taken on my trip back to the park earlier this year).
  • The Seeker: At the urging of his medicine woman grandmother, David Ward climbs the sacred mountain for a vision when he’s 19. He sees his future, but cannot stop destiny from unfolding down hidden pathways. This novel is partially set in the Montana high country during the state’s worst flood. The spiritual and personal deluge is worse than the high water and threatens to carry away the young woman he plans to marry. 99 cents at Kindle, OmniLit, Smashwords, Nook. Also available in paperback.
  • I served on board the USS Ranger

    I served on board the USS Ranger

    The Sailor: While David Ward’s heart tells him to dodge the draft by escaping into Canada or Sweden, he bows to the pressure of family and friends and enlists in the Navy where he serves aboard an aircraft carrier in the South China Sea. While a carrier is a dangerous place, the greatest threats to his sanity come from his friends and family back home. $4.99 on Kindle, Smashwords, Nook, OmniLit. Also available in paperback.

  • The Betrayed: After serving in the navy during the Vietnam War, David Ward finds refuge from his demons in at a small, Midwestern college where almost everyone is lying about something including those he once thought he could trust. Not for the faint of heart, The Betrayed is a tale of magic, attempted murder, slander and kidnapping. $4.99 at iTunes, Nook, Kindle, Smashwords, OmniLit.
  • The real Wilson's Beach Cottages

    The real Wilson’s Beach Cottages

    Teaser from The Seeker: Now—as that blind poet once said—“when the child of morning, rosy-fingered Dawn, appeared,” they went into the sea and he heard women’s voices singing a far-off hymn while Anne walked close through the incoming tide. They walked in the company of gulls and sandpipers, and a playful cocker spaniel puppy that stayed with them until they reached the end of Wilson’s long pier. Anne was saying, as the wind blew her hair toward the high water outside the confines of the sheltering bay, “We were good last night.” David kissed her and said yes. Last night in this place she had worn a sheer cloak of starlight in the diamond spray, her face no longer in shadow, and they had seen fire howling between their legs until the waves drove them down with murder in their eyes and all was claws and blood.

Malcolm R. Campbell is also the author of “Jock Stewart and the Missing Sea of Fire,” “The Land Between the Rivers,” “Moonlight and Ghosts,” “Emily’s Stories,” and “Cora’s Crossing.”


2 responses