Does anyone remember this astral projection exercise?

Standard

When I was in high school, I bought a book that purported to teach a variety of psychic techniques. Unfortunately, I no longer remember the name of the book or what happened to it.

Wikipedia photo

Wikipedia photo

The book included an astral projection exercise far different than the usual ones which suggest lying down, meditating and ultimately visualizing oneself floating above the bed.

Here’s what I remember about it:

  • Sit in a comfortable chair and relax at a time when nobody else is home.
  • Stand up and walk to some other location in the house noting what you see along the way.
  • Return to the chair.
  • Close your eyes and visualize taking that same walk through the house, seeing in your mind’s eye what you saw when you physically walked through the house. Remember any smells, textures, lights and shadows, etc. as specifically as you can.
  • Visualize returning to the chair.
  • Now, open your eyes and physically walk through the house again by the same route and return to the chair.
  • Next, visualize taking that walk through the house.
  • According to the book, you will sooner or later return to the chair and find yourself already sitting there. Supposedly when this happens, you will be in your astral body and can experiment with willing yourself to appear in one room or another and, in time, at other places.

I tried this exercise several times, but never made many physical or mental walks through the house because the longer I did it, the more I began to dread that it would work. Why this exercise bothered me, I’m not sure. Maybe it was the loss of control, the idea that I would just stumble across myself rather than lifting away from myself in a controlled way.

Has anyone ever heard of this, much less tried it? If so, did it work?

This is a curiosity question because something about this exercise has always bothered me. I wish I could track it down and read the instructions and rationale again to see why I felt panic rather than curiosity about it.

–Malcolm

MoonLightandGhostsAs you might expect, Malcolm R. Campbell is the author of books and stories in the paranormal, magical realism and fantasy genres, including “Moonlight and Ghosts.”

8 responses

  1. Sounds scary to me, but I doubt it would work. Einstein would no doubt have something to say about it. Perhaps it frightened you because you DIDN’T know if it would work. Sometimes confirming something is as disturbing as leaving it unconfirmed.

  2. Never heard of this technique, but I think it sounds like it would be fairly harmless to try. Write and let us know if you figure out why it bothers you.

  3. I don’t remember this one, but I remember an exercise that was supposed to teach one how to move objects with one’s mind. You basically had to sit and stare at it and visualize it moving until it did. Like you with astral projection, I was afraid to concentrate too hard on whatever object I was staring at. What if it had actually worked? ACK!