Great Energy Shift? I don’t know, though we definitely need one

Standard

“As we are heading into the Age of Aquarius, new energies are encompassing our bodies and are reflected in various physiological symptoms. Within this transition of the ages, many people will begin to feel many of these energy shift symptoms on a regular basis as our bodies are adjusting and upgrading to the higher frequencies.”

– from the Esoteric Metaphysical Spiritual Database

Is there really a great spiritual energy shift coming? I have no clue. I do know what there are hundreds, perhaps thousands, of spiritual coaches, mentors, facilitators, teachers and writers spreading the word across the Internet that the shift is coming or has already begun and that they have the meditations, symbols, light language, breathing exercises, visualizations, and podcasts that will definitively place you on the right road to be part of it all.

I hope they are right.

newageThe world’s a mess now. We’re hearing this from both ends of the political spectrum, from experts at think tanks and research centers, and from mainstream and alternative religious leaders.

Perhaps there is a great spiritual transformation on the horizon. Or, perhaps there isn’t, but soon will be because it will be created by all the people passionately telling us that a great change is coming. Maybe they are creating their own self-fulfilling prophecy, assuming they aren’t really the first to know a secret the rest of us don’t accept yet.

In the 1960s and 1970s there as a new age movement with a lot of talk about the Age of Aquarius, the Silva Method, Transcendental Meditation, making love not war, and many people were convinced “this was it” in the same way others were convinced years ago that World War I was the war to end all wars. But then life went on with the same old problems and a lot of the new age faithful slowly returned to logical, mainstream lifestyles.

I often think we’re attracted to new age ideas and books like “The Secret” because we’re looking for a spiritual quick fix. I don’t necessarily think the beliefs behind the former new age movement or the current spiritual shift movement are wrong. My own beliefs are by no means mainstream. I just think it’s hard to stay the course. One goes to a spiritual retreat and returns to the real world freshly energized and with a new sense of purpose and certainty. But in the face of what the rest of the world thinks, they have trouble maintaining that high, keeping up with the visualizations and meditations, and slowly slip back into the muck of a mainstream lifestyle.

Perhaps there are more seekers now. Perhaps they have more endurance and will persevere in spite of the fact that everything they see in their workplaces, in their communities and on the news is telling them quite strongly they’re wrong.

At my age, I no longer have youth’s passion to be a preacher for any belief system, much less advertise myself on line as a spiritual coach. In fact, if I did have the energy, I wouldn’t do it because–great energy shift or not–I see beliefs as very personal and not something to be sold or taught. You’ll find some of my beliefs echoed in the beliefs of the characters in my novels. That’s the best I can do. I didn’t get the memo about a great energy shift, so I’m not going to try to convince you there is one, much less sell you a course about how to ride the whirlwind.

Truth be told, I’ve always thought that–as well-intentioned as  it may be–the missionary approach is misguided and arrogant. How can one say that his/her beliefs are better than the spiritual beliefs of another person or group? Perhaps I’m hiding behind my books. Hard to say. They are stories, though, rather than sermons.

My approach to spiritual ideas is that we all have the capability of discovering them for ourselves. I may be wrong about that, and since that’s possible, I won’t offer you a podcast or a DVD to bring you around to my way of thinking. If my novels and short stories suggest there’s something “out there” other than science, technology and doggedly earning a living, then I’m pleased. I don’t know any secrets to sell you, and that includes the real or imagined great energy shift.

–Malcolm

SarabandeCover2015Malcolm R. Campbell is the author of “Conjure Woman’s Cat,” The Sun Singer,” and “Sarabande.”

Website: http://www.conjurewomanscat.com/

 

8 responses

  1. I totally agree. Everyone has their own view of the Multiverse and who am I to say they are right or wrong?
    However, you and I both know that there’s more “out there” than meets the eye, and that’s one reason we write–to remind people of just that.
    It’s important because, as you say, everyday, mainstream life makes us forget.

  2. Hi Malcolm.

    A good musing; thank you for sharing your thoughts. I actually wasn’t sure what a ‘spiritual coach’ did, so had to do a web search. I admit a healthy skepticism for the myriad life coaching certifications that have sprung up over the recent years, though I realize that the certification programs and affiliate programs are more likely to be greater income generators. I thought ‘spiritual coaching’ might be like ‘spiritual direction’, but it doesn’t seem so. Fascinating.

    I’m guessing it ‘exploits’ the significant number of people who identify as ‘spiritual but not religious’? Churches have always had pastors and staff who were salaried, so perhaps these are reflecting the changes. I still do have the skepticism of the coaching certification programs, though (vs. consulting someone who just has lots of lived experience and perhaps the other education as well).

    Anyway, very thought provoking. Thanks again for stirring the thoughts!

    • Like you, I see spiritual coaches and mentors of various kinds everywhere online and wonder what kind of resumes they really have. I also raise my eyebrows about their high degree of certainty in making such pronouncements as “light beings want you to stand on the ground in bare feet,” and I’m thinking that if there are light beings how is this person getting information about what they want? I can’t prove what I believe either, so I don’t put up a shingle.