Memory Lane: Kellogg’s Krumbles

Standard

krumblesResearching a novel set in the 1950s–during my childhood–brought me many memories as I looked at the political issues, the fads and the products. While I didn’t mention Kellogg’s Krumbles cereal in the book, seeing the familiar box again was definitely a trip down memory lane.

Krumbles was my favorite cereal because I liked the taste and the fact that it didn’t get soggy in milk. Supposedly, Kellogg’s was trying to make a shredded wheat like product, but it ended up crumbling in the box. So, they crumbled it on purpose and it made a fine, high-fiber cereal that was on the market between the 1920s and the 1960s.

According to Murphy’s Laws, if you like a product, that’s the one the grocery store and/or the manufacturer discontinues. Losing Krumbles wasn’t a loss of innocence, it was a lost of a tasty breakfast.

–Malcolm

Malcolm R. Campbell’s 1950s novel is called “Eulalie and Washerwoman.” It’s the story of a conjure woman who uses folk magic to fight a corrupt businessman in her small Florida Panhandle town.

 

2 responses

  1. I don’t remember Krumbles, but I do remember many things like that which were excellent but no longer exist. I have yet to understand how those decisions were made. Seems like as soon as I really get to like something it is discontinued.